top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Lewis

Quick Update

After visiting the abortion clinic in London and reflecting on the information and interviews I have sourced so far I feel as though I have gathered enough content to start constructing my documentary.


Here are a few things I have thought about and will think about whilst creating my piece:


Throughout my research and interview stage I discovered that every protester I encounter (and the majority of protesters described to me by members of staff) were in fact religious, and stated that abortion was against God.


I was quite surprised by this discovery as initially I did not think that the majority of pro-lifers would all make a connection to religion as the reason for why they protest. This finding has also left me questioning whether or not they are using religion as an excuse rather than the reason as to why they protest?


I have also found through my research that not every protest is the same, and they often range in terms of intensity, meaning it's hard for clinics to pass any legislation which prohibits protesters outside.


Nevertheless, many clinics up and down the country are continuing to push for buffer zones around their clinics so anti-abortion activity can not take place directly outside.


Finally, the last thought I have is the argument of free speech. We live in a society where everyone has the right to express their feelings and what they believe in, including protesting against abortion.


However, the debate lies with whether they should be allowed to do it directly outside clinics, where members of staff have to walk past every day.


Is it free speech or is it harassment and intimidation?



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page