top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Lewis

The editing process

I am currently in the editing stage of producing my documentary and working towards refining my final piece.


I had my final meeting with my supervisor on Friday where she was able to listen to my finished draft.


I was told that the sound quality of a few of my clips could do with improvement. This is where I had to refer back to the audio editing techniques I've been taught over the past two years at university.


I believe I have managed to improve the sound quality by playing around with the noise levels and background sounds.


However, this advice from my supervisor has made me reflect on the locations that I conducted my interviews. Moving forward as a journalist I think I need to be more aware of the quality of sound I am producing rather than just the content alone.


Furthermore, I have decided to only use music at the very start and end of my documentary as I believe this fits more into the target market of BBC Radio 4 and Woman's Hour as they tend not to use music throughout.


By doing this I also believe it helps to not distract from the emotional content of the piece, it allows the listener to easily take in and process what the interviewees have said.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page