top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Lewis

Profile: BPAS Clinic Bournemouth

Updated: Jan 7, 2020

During my initial research of this topic, I contacted an anti-harassment organisation called Sister Supporter to find out more about what goes on outside abortion clinics in the UK. After several emails back and forth, the pro-choice charity informed me that the BPAS clinic in Bournemouth experiences some of the worst harassment and intimidation of staff in the country. The clinic is currently campaigning for a buffer zone around the centre in order to keep protesters away from the entrance.


Having a buffer zone prohibits activists from standing directly outside. This means that women and staff will not have to walk past groups of anti-abortion protesters on their way in, and out of the clinic.


There are currently only two clinics in the country that have secured a buffer zone, both of which are located in London. The Marie Stopes clinic in Ealing, and the BPAS clinic in Richmond, now have protection from protesters.


After finding out this information I decided to travel to the Bournemouth clinic myself and find out why they feel it is necessary to have a buffer zone around their clinic.


I contacted the manager, Amanda Ewels, who agreed I could go and speak with herself and other staff members about the protesters they experience outside.


Upon my approach to the clinic I was sceptical at first as to whether I would encounter any protesters. Unfortunately, at 4pm this Tuesday afternoon there were not any outside. However, I was keen to investigate and find out more.


Once inside the clinic I was told multiple stories, and shown evidence from three different staff members about what protesters have done over recent years.


It was clear from listening to the staff members speak, that the amount of protesters and the frequency of their visits to the clinic has been increasing over recent years, and that's why they feel a buffer zone is necessary.


You will be able to hear all about the protesters the Bournemouth clinic experiences and stories from staff members in my finished documentary, coming soon.



Photograph by Grace Lewis

Picture of BPAS clinic Bournemouth

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page